New NOC System

What is the NOC system?

NOC stands for National Occupation Classification. It is a system used to describe occupations. IRCC uses the NOC system to sort occupations into groups that represent the potential benefit of a candidate’s occupation to the Canadian economy. Having an occupation that fits within the correct groups is essential for an applicant’s eligibility for Express Entry, as well as for most Provincial Nominee Programs. At the moment, an applicant’s occupation is determined by the National Occupational Classification (NOC) 2016 version 1.3. As of November 16, 2022, the Canadian government will employ a new system: National Occupational Classification (NOC) 2021 V1.0.


Why is the system changing?

The last time the NOC system received a structural revision was with the publishing of the NOC 2011 version. As Canada continues to expand targets for economic immigration, the need to classify applicants’ occupations in more detail rises. The new NOC system aims to classify jobs more thoroughly, introducing expanded codes and groups.


What are the most significant changes?

While the current NOC system (NOC 2016) sorts occupations into five Skill Levels (0, A, B, C, and D), the new version will use a grouping system titled TEER – Training, Education, Experience and Responsibilities. This will consist of six groups (TEER 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5). Under the new system, NOC codes will also have a 5-digit structure, compared to the 4-digit model used in NOC 2016. 


The second digit of your new 5-digit NOC code represents the TEER category under which it falls. For instance, the new NOC code for software engineers and designers is 21231, which falls under TEER category 1.  

Here are some more examples:


NOC 2016 Code

NOC 2021 Code

TEER Category

Early childhood educators and assistants




Financial Managers








More importantly, several occupations are becoming eligible for Express Entry, and others will lose their eligibility. Currently, the following occupations will become eligible for Express Entry:


  • Aircraft assemblers and aircraft assembly inspectors.

  • Bus drivers, subway operators and other transit operators;

  • Bylaw enforcement and other regulatory officers;

  • Correctional service officers;

  • Dental assistants and dental laboratory assistants;

  • Elementary and secondary school teacher assistants;

  • Estheticians, electrologists and related occupations;

  • Heavy equipment operators; and

  • Nurse aides, orderlies and patient service associates;

  • Other repairers and servicers;

  • Payroll administrators;

  • Pest controllers and fumigators;

  • Pharmacy technical assistants and pharmacy assistants;

  • Residential and commercial installers and servicers;

  • Sheriffs and bailiffs;

  • Transport truck drivers;


Unfortunately, the followings occupations will become ineligible on November 16:


  • Other performers;

  • Program leaders and instructors in recreation, sport and fitness; and

  • Tailors, dressmakers, furriers and milliners


Express Entry candidates with the above occupations that have not yet received an ITA (invitation to apply) by November 16, 2022, will become ineligible for Express Entry, but may still meet the requirements for some Provincial Nominee Programs.


What action is required of candidates (or their legal representatives)?

Candidates for Express Entry that receive an ITA by November 16, 2022, will have to apply under the current NOC system. Other candidates must update their profiles on or after November 16 with their new NOC code in order to remain eligible to receive an ITA.

How to find your new NOC Code and TEER level

Under the current system, NOC codes grouped into Skills Levels A, B, and 0 are eligible for Express Entry. In the new system, TEERs 0, 1, 2, and 3 will be eligible. Most occupations will transfer to the new system as follows:


Skill type or level

TEER category

Skill Type 0


Skill Level A


Skill Level B

TEER 2 or TEER 3

Skill Level C


Skill Level D


If you have received an invitation to apply

If you have received an ITA before November 16, 2022, you must submit your application for permanent residence using NOC 2016.

Updated NOC 2021 eligibility criteria for Express Entry

Eligibility criteria

Canadian Experience Class

Federal Skilled Worker Program

Federal Skilled Trades Program

Language skills

English or French skills

  • CLB 7 for TEER 0 or TEER 1 occupations

  • CLB 5 for TEER 2 or TEER 3 occupations

English or French skills

  • CLB 7

English or French skills

  • CLB 5 for speaking and listening

  • CLB 4 for reading and writing

Type/Level of work experience

Canadian work experience in an occupation listed in 1 or more of these NOC TEER Categories:

  • TEER 0

  • TEER 1

  • TEER 2

  • TEER 3

Work experience in an occupation listed in 1 of these NOC TEER Categories:

  • TEER 0

  • TEER 1

  • TEER 2

  • TEER 3

Work experience in a skilled trade under key groups of TEER 2 or TEER 3:

  • Major Group 72, technical trades and transportation officers and controllers, excluding Sub-Major Group 726, transportation officers and controllers

  • Major Group 73, general trades

  • Major Group 82, supervisors in natural resources, agriculture and related production

  • Major Group 83, occupations in natural resources and related production

  • Major Group 92, processing, manufacturing and utilities supervisors, and utilities operators and controllers

  • Major Group 93, central control and process operators and aircraft assembly assemblers and inspectors, excluding Sub-Major Group 932, aircraft assemblers and aircraft assembly inspectors

  • Minor Group 6320, cooks, butchers and bakers

  • Unit Group 62200, chefs

Amount of work experience

One year in Canada in the last 3 years (either combination of full-time or part-time work)

One year continuous within the last 10 years (combination of part-time, full-time or more than 1 job in your primary occupation)

Two years within last 5 years (either combination of full-time or part-time work)

Job offer

Not required.

Not required.

But you can get selection criteria (FSW) points for having a valid job offer.



Not required.

Secondary education required.

You can get more selection criteria (FSW) points for your post-secondary education.

Not required.

Visit this link to find the new NOC code and TEER category for your occupation. 


For more information on which immigration option is best for you and your business, or for assistance designing your longer-term immigration strategy, reach out to me directly through my CONTACT page.  We can set up a consultation to find the immigration option that works best for your specific needs.

Disclaimer: The contents of this blog post were accurate at the time of publication. Changes in circumstances after the time of publication may impact the accuracy of the information provided above. This blog post is not updated on a regular basis.

Co-written by Lucas Almeida and Rebecca Tripp

Originally posted on November 14, 2022

© Copyright The Immigration and Paralegal Law Office of Rebecca B. Tripp. All Rights Reserved.